TAKE THIS!
"For the Lord your God is God of gods and Lord of lords, the great God, mighty and awesome, who is not partial and takes no bribe." Deut 10:17

AND THAT...
"But Joash replied to the hostile crowd around him, “Are you going to plead Baal’s cause? Are you trying to save him? Whoever fights for him shall be put to death by morning! If Baal really is a god, he can defend himself when someone breaks down his altar.”  Judges 6:31.

AND HERE COME MY RIGHT HOOK ... "KAPOW!!"

"Deliver me from my enemies, O God;  be my fortress against those who are attacking me.  Deliver me from evildoers  and save me from those who are after my blood ... You are my strength, I watch for you;  you, God, are my fortress,  my God on whom I can rely."  Ps 59: 1-2 & 9-10

For you see, enemy (with a small e), my GOD (all caps) is bigger than you.  It is bigger than this situation that Jonas and I are in. Vicious gossip and rumor mongering will be vanquished before your very eyes and the evil will cease and GOD will bind the tongues of those who speak nastiness, because "God don't like ugly!"

"They have become filled with every kind of wickedness, evil, greed and depravity. They are full of envy, murder, strife, deceit and malice. They are gossips..." Romans 1:29

A priest once told me that to gossip is to kill someone with your tongue.  And Lord, whether I have ever knowingly or unwittingly gossiped, I ask forgiveness and confess that I have indeed done this.  But I also ask now for the strength to rise above it as Jonas and I are being barraged.

I acknowledge you, enemy.  For not to, is a foolish thing.  I uncover you from the murky shadow where you hide draining my soul of its inherent goodness and love.  I see you for who and what you are.  You are exposed.

And most importantly you are powerless over me and over us.  You may have convinced those others to do your bidding, but I will stand firm in  my love of GOD and trust in HIM.  Even in the most Godless place, and in the most Godless circumstances, I know you think you have triumphed, but if sought, GOD will ALWAYS be found.

I rest in HIS bosom today.  I take his hand and he walks beside me on this difficult journey. "Yeah though I walk through the shadow of the valley of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me." Ps 23.  His angels surround me and you can just slither away into the nasty pit from which you came.  I break down your alter and destroy it til it is nothing more than dust in the wind.  You are a false god and I refuse to worship you with my worry and anxiety.  I refuse to venerate you with my fear.  I will worship MY GOD with all the might and love I can find within my being.


Picture



Saint Michael the Archangel,
defend us in battle.
Be our protection against the wickedness and snares of the devil.
May God rebuke him, we humbly pray;
and do Thou, O Prince of the Heavenly Host - by the Divine Power of God -
cast into hell, satan and all the evil spirits,
who roam throughout the world seeking the ruin of souls. Amen.
Prayer of St. Michael the Archangel




Leave a Reply.